Surf City Yacht Club

Social Events

Come join us for SCYC fun! A festive array of social events for adults is planned on weekends during the season from Memorial Day through mid-October. Saturday night socials include sunset cocktail parties, bay front concerts, BBQ’s, clam bakes, pig roasts and theme parties. Additional social events include golf outings, game and card nights, and a wide variety of family – oriented activities.

scroll


Social Events

The Surf City Yacht Club has a rich history of promoting a variety of social activities since its inception. From May through late October the club hosts events on every Saturday evening (and many during the week) including barbecues, beach parties and dances. There are many activities for different groups and this year’s socials include a Docktail party, Clam Bake, Craft beer and Wine Auction, a Martini Social, a Full Moon party, a Pirates party and our own October Chowderfest.

Social Events


Social Events

Golf Outings

The Club sponsors four co-ed golf outings during the season and golf is open to the newcomer as well as seasoned golfer alike. We generally play on area courses and many of the outings are “best ball” allowing for spirited but yet friendly competition. Last year we played at the Toms River Country Club and lunch followed play. We also played a “Nine and Dine” at the beautiful Sea Oaks course and non-golf spouses and friends are invited to these lunches and dinners.

Our Club also has a competition team that competes against another yacht club on Long Beach Island and we have won that competition for the past 4 years!



Auxiliary Meetings & Activities

All women members of the Surf City Yacht Club are automatically a member of the Auxiliary and are cordially invited to participate in any or all of the activities. The Auxiliary hosts weekly events and special outings. Past events have included trips to New York City and Philadelphia. Their special event this season will include the Annual Fashion Show (always well done and sold out).

Meeting other club members in small groups and activities is a good way to learn about any trips or events that have been planned since the yearbook was printed.

The steering committee always welcomes ideas for additional Auxiliary activities.

2019 Meetings & Activities Calendar
Women's Auxiliary

Juniors

Juniors

Any young member of SCYC who has reached his/her fourteenth birthday by July 1st of the present year, or will be entering ninth grade and will not turn 19 in the calendar year, is considered a “Junior”. All members in this age group are encouraged to join in the Junior social events to make new friends and participate in fun-filled activities with their peers. The Juniors are run by elected officers, including a Junior Commodore, Vice Commodore, Secretary and Treasurer, who plan exciting and entertaining events for their age group throughout the season. One of the highlights of the summer is the Junior Commodore’s Regatta in early July which is organized and run by the SCYC Juniors.

Social Calendar

May
Sat, May 4 6:30pm Work Party Social
Sat, May 18 6:30 pm Work Party Social
Sat, May 25 6:30 pm Commissioning
June
Sat, June 1 6:30 pm Orange Coffee Pot Social
Fri, June 7 5:30 pm Costco and Cocktails Social
Sat, June 8 6:30 pm Jambalaya Dinner
Fri, June 14 6:30 pm Flip the Night Social
Sat, June 15 6:30 pm NO SOCIAL
Sat, June 22 6:30 pm It’s Summer-Burn your Socks!
Sat, June 28 6:30 pm Pasta w/Diana and Paul
Sat, June 29 6:30 pm Sunset and Martinis
July
Thurs, July 4 6:00 pm 4th of July BBQ
Sat, July 6 6:30 pm Buffet and Boat Drinks
Thurs, July 11 6:00 pm Evening Fun Sailing
Sat, July 13 6:30 pm Welcome New Membersl
Sun, July 14 1:00 pm Raft Up
Sat, July 20 6:30 pm Warren Brothers Band
Thurs, July 25 6:00 pm Evening Fun Sailing
Fri, July 26 5:30 pm Past Commodore Happy Hour
Sat, July 27 6:30 pm “Hog”Warts BBQ
Full 2019 Social Calendar